Turkey Taco Tuesday

I am mostly gluten free so I try to make nice dinners implementing a gluten free lifestyle. One of my go to recipes during the week is oven baked turkey tacos. They satisfy my Mexican food cravings and are really easy to do. I will provide a shorter version with a longer version if you are not pressed for time.

taco night 01
Please find above a photo of the ingredients. I divided the recipe I go off of in half because there are only two of us and do not usually eat the left overs…  I was pressed for time so I did a one stop grocery stop at Trader Joes.

*1 pound ground turkey
*1/2  small onion chopped
*8oz tomato sauce
*1/2 can of refried beans
*1 package of taco seasoning (please check out the longer version if you would like to mix your own spices)
*1 package of hard shell tacos
*1 cup Colby Jack Cheese

I didn’t use any toppings but you can use whatever you like.  Lettuce, sour cream, avocado, diced tomato etc.

taco night 02

I preheated the oven at 400 degrees and began to cook the turkey and chopped onion on the stove top.  I drained the oil/grease and mixed the taco seasoning, tomato sauce and refried beans.

taco night 03

I then used 5 (but there was more filling for more) hard shell tacos and scooped the mixture into each one.  I then sprinkled the cheese on them and placed them in the oven for about 10 minutes (or when the cheese is nice and melted).

taco night 04

You can now add your desired toppings and serve.  It was really filling and not too spicy (I have another version if you like the spice).

Alternate Recipe Version:

Want to mix your own seasoning (for 1 pound of ground turkey double if you want to use 2 pounds of ground turkey)

*1/2 tablespoon chili powder
*1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
*1/8 teaspoon of onion powder
*1/8 teaspoon of crushed red pepper
*1/8 teaspoon of dried oregano
*1/4 teaspoon of paprika
*3/4 teaspoon of ground cumin
*1/2 teaspoon of salt (or sea salt)

For those who like the fire…  Add a 1/2 can of diced green chilis while adding the seasoning, tomato sauce and beans on the stovetop.

I hope you enjoy.  I have tried the recipe by making my own seasoning, with or without the chili, and with prepackaged taco seasoning (from Trader Joes) and enjoyed all of the variations.  This is a nice and hearty meal and great for ‘taco tuesday’.

you can e-mail with any questions… ecarlateboutique@yahoo.com

Thanks!

Aja
Ecarlate Boutique

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

