Ecarlate’s Summer – Patchwork Shows, Disneyland and Hillcrest

Living in Palm Springs can be depressing during the summer months.  It gets unbearably hot and the only time you are able to get out and about is to from the car to your destination and sometimes if you are lucky during the wee hours of the morning.  Therefore, every year I make a vow (which I end up breaking) to create some adventure and get out of town.  Even though it is still August, looking back I find that I did fulfill that promise in some way even if it is not the traditional tropical island or lavish overseas trip.

We begin with Patchwork’s Summer Show in Long Beach.  I was so excited to be a part of this show.  It is nearby and has a wonderful reputation for handmade and quality items.  Below, I am showing some of our new hand printed fabric pillows.  I am thrilled to add another handmade element to our traditional dog silhouette pillows and they have had a nice response.  Patchwork is more than a show organizer, they have a fantastic website and facebook page.  Follow and see what they have to offer https://www.facebook.com/patchworkshow & http://dearhandmadelife.com/patchwork-show/

Patchwork Long Beach - 2014 Memorial Day Weekend.  I am personally showcasing some new work.

Patchwork Long Beach – 2014 Memorial Day Weekend. I am personally showcasing some new work.

Here's another shot of my display at Patchwork.  It showcases our new hand printed fabrics along with some block printed fabrics.

Here’s another shot of my display at Patchwork. It showcases our new hand printed fabrics along with some block printed fabrics.

While at Patchwork's show in Long Beach we found this beautiful taupe and embroidered dress for my niece Scarlet.

While at Patchwork’s show in Long Beach we found this beautiful taupe and embroidered dress for my niece Scarlet.

Patchwork 2014 Long Beach Summer / Memorial Day - Yummy bread

Patchwork 2014 Long Beach Summer / Memorial Day – Yummy bread

A few short weeks later, we participated at Patchwork’s Santa Ana show. Again, I was excited to be a part of the show and had a really lovely day. It landed on father’s day and I was lucky enough for my dad to sacrifice his day to help out. He really is a trooper throughout our travels for craft fairs.

Father Daughter moment at Patchwork's Santa Ana show during Fathers Day

Father Daughter moment at Patchwork’s Santa Ana show during Fathers Day

A glimpse at our set up during Patchworks 2014 Santa Ana Show on Father's Day

A glimpse at our set up during Patchworks 2014 Santa Ana Show on Father’s Day

During the summer, we have been creating block print designs. What is great about this is that I hand carve each one giving our designs a more unique quality. I am just glad I haven’t stabbed my hand…carving

It isn’t all work and no play. In July my nephew (who just turned 10) came to visit. To beat the heat and celebrate his & my dad’s birthday, we took them to Disneyland. I haven’t been in 7 years and it was nice to have a few days to not think of sewing or popping up a tent. In August my niece & sister came down for a few days. Again, I took some time off to have quality time.

Micah & I waiting in line for the Matterhorn .  Excuse my wet Splash Mountain hair...

Micah & I waiting in line for the Matterhorn . Excuse my wet Splash Mountain hair…

My niece Scarlet wearing her prize from Chuck E Cheese

My niece Scarlet wearing her prize from Chuck E Cheese

Soon after my niece & sister left for home, we were on the road again. This time for Hillcrest in San Diego. This is our fourth year and it never disappoints. The patrons are fun and I got to briefly catch up with one of my dearest friends from childhood.

My dear friend Andrew.

My dear friend Andrew.

I am still participating at the Village Fest on Thursday evenings and keeping up with my Etsy shop. Visit us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/EcarlateBoutique or now on Instagram @ecarlateblush Otherwise, we can be found at the usual spots http://www.ecarlateboutique.etsy.com , http://www.ecarlateblush.com or email ecarlateboutique@yahoo.com

We are still creating some fun items for Halloween and Christmas so stay tuned.

Aja

This entry was posted in Product Information, Street Fairs / Art Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

